Lecture on Secrets of Qur’anic Arabic at Masjid Al-Faatir

I tried taking notes but had a really difficult time keeping up, so I stopped. I am missing more than I was able to write down. I was able to glean a few things from the lecture, but a lot of it was over my head. Meaning some of it was way advanced study, and I didn’t understand many of the words he used – in English! 

He is a good speaker, but I felt like he focused more on the Arabic and just kind of glossed over English translation, and some things he did not translate at all, or if he did, I missed it. It was very academic.

I also notice that the title of the lecture has changed. I went because it was originally titled Secrets of Surah Al-Fatihah or something like that. It ended up being Secrets of Qur’anic Arabic. Either way, it was good, but not something I would recommend for new Muslims. I think it might cause some confusion. I know it did for me. 

There were some things that were taught to me a certain way, but explained differently by the speaker. I won’t go into specific examples. And I didn’t think anyone was right or wrong, they were just different, so I asked someone for clarification during the break.

Here are a few of the notes I took:

Lecture on Secrets of Qur’anic Arabic at Masjid Al-Faatir

Dr. Hisham Mahmoud

Relationship between language of Qur’an and reflection. 

Qur’an created before humans. Destined to come into the world. 

Revealed in Arabic so we can have access to reflect. 

Coherence and Exegesis

Qur’an has no beginning and no end. 

Fatihah means opening not beginning. 

Qur’an is not linear. 

Everything in Qur’an is contained in Fatihah. Everything in Fatihah is contained in Bismillah. Everything in Bismillah is contained in baa. Everything in baa is contained in the dot. 

Khatam = gone through and come back to start over. 

Quran makes tawaf around Al-Fatihah (I didn’t quite understand tawaf. He kept referring to orbits of earth, moon, and sun, so I’m guessing it means orbital?)

Surah ta’nass (I had to guess here because it wasn’t written and I don’t know all of the names of the surat in the Qur’an) leads to Surah Al-Fatihah

Rabbin’as. Rabbin Al Amin

Malikinas. Maliki yaw mideen

Ilhahinas. Iyakka na’abudu wa iyakka nastaeen

Al waswas annas. Maghdubi al ahim wa la daaal leen

There is a relationship between one Surah and the one that follows. 

Bukhahi book (I didn’t get the title. It was in Arabic and they didn’t put it on the screen or the board) on relationships of verses of Qur’an

There was much more, but like I said, I couldn’t keep up.

Here is a photo that I thought was pretty fascinating. I didn’t realize palindromes existed in other languages, but I don’t know why I didn’t. I hope it’s legible.

image

Unfortunately, I am not allowed to let people comment on more than two posts per day according to the Tumblr Admins.  So if you have questions or comments about this, please send me a private message and I will append the question and answer to the end of the post.  Just be sure to include which entry you are asking/commenting about in your message please.

Leave a Reply

